Home Instruction Overview
Under the Home Instruction Statute, there are two legal requirements for homeschooling in Virginia:
First, at the beginning of each school year, by August 15th, a parent/guardian wishing to homechool under the Home Instruction Statute must file a “Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction” (NOI) with the local school division superintendent. Remember that if your child is 5 years old by September 30th, you have additional kindergarten options available.
Note: If the decision to begin home instruction is made after August 15th, the NOI should be delivered to the superintendent as soon as possible, in order to avoid truancy charges. For more information, see Start Homeschooling Mid-Year.
Second, at the end of the year, by August 1st, evidence of the child’s educational progress must be supplied to the superintendent.
Note: If the child is younger than 6 years old on September 30th, no evidence of progress is required at the end of that school year. To read more about this exception, please visit the page on Kindergarten Options.
Having satisfied both of these requirements each year, the parent/guardian is free to homeschool in any manner that works best, and at the level and pace appropriate for the child. Note also that the parent/guardian has the right (without notice to the superintendent) to change materials and/or methods during the term, in an effort to optimize the child’s learning experience.
Homeschoolers in Virginia use a variety of curricula and approaches, ranging from pre-packaged curriculum and correspondence schools to child-initiated learning or “unschooling.” Please see the sections on Styles and Approaches and Outsourcing Classes for some ideas and examples.
This information is provided as a courtesy of The Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers. It is not intended as legal advice. For legal advice, contact a licensed attorney.
VaHomeschoolers is a non-profit public charity with 501(c)(3) status; your donation is tax-deductible to the extent provided by law.