Obtaining a Learner's Permit
The process for obtaining learner’s permits is very similar for all Virginia teens, homeschooled or otherwise. However, there are a few additional considerations for some homeschooling families.
The learner’s permit is obtained in person through your local DMV office. A teen must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age and must be a legal resident of Virginia. Both paperwork and testing are required.
Required paperwork includes the following:
- Completing the application process and paying the fees for both the learner’s permit and driver’s license
- Registering for the Selective Service (males under age 26 only)
- Signing a written consent form (teens under age 18 only)
Teens under age 18 must also show one proof of identity, one proof of legal presence, one proof of Virginia residence, and proof of a social security number (if one has been issued).
Persons age 18 or older must show all of the above plus one additional proof of identity. You will be required to present all of these documents on each visit to the DMV until the learner’s permit is issued.
Testing in Virginia includes a vision screening and a two-part knowledge exam. The knowledge exam covers material learned in the classroom component of the driver education program. It is also possible to pass the exam by studying the Virginia Driver’s Manual. However, passing the exam does not exempt you from taking the classroom component of driver education.
Teens under age 18 who fail the knowledge exam must wait 15 days before re-taking the exam. Teens, regardless of age, who fail the knowledge exam three times have additional requirements to complete before re-examination. Re-examination requirements for homeschooled students can be found in the “Home-schooled Re-examination Requirements Information Sheet (pdf).”
Here are two free online DMV permit practice test websites for Virginia:
Students will not be asked to provide their email address, create an account, or share any other personal information.
The DMV website has extensive information on how to comply with these requirements.
Learner’s permits are no longer handed out over the counter at the DMV, but are now mailed to the applicant.
This information is provided as a courtesy of The Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers. It is not intended as legal advice. For legal advice, contact a licensed attorney.
VaHomeschoolers is a non-profit public charity with 501(c)(3) status; your donation is tax-deductible to the extent provided by law.