Board of Directors

The Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers is governed by an all volunteer Board of Directors. Members of the Board of Directors are elected annually by the VaHomeschoolers membership and serve a term of two years.

2015 Board of Directors

Karen Skelton, Annandale – President Karen was elected to her first term on the Board of Directors in 2014 after serving as one of the VaHomeschoolers Helpline volunteers. Karen has been homeschooling for over 10 years and has a sincere desire to support and encourage others. She has two nearly grown children.

DeeDee Sauter, Manassas – Secretary DeeDee was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2014 after serving as the VaHomeschoolers Blog Editor. She is deeply committed to the inclusive mission of VaHomeschoolers and has been homeschooling her two children for 3 years.

Kelly Phong, Locust Grove – Treasurer Kelly lives in Locust Grove with her husband and five children, newborn to late teen. She has found that homeschooling is a different experience for each of her children and that these varied experiences has enriched her own continued learning.

Silvia Barrett, Charlottesville Silvia was elected to her third term on the Board of Directors in 2014 and has previously served two consecutive terms as Treasurer in addition to being VaHomeschoolers regional coordinator for Charlottesville. Silvia created the Albemarle Homeschoolers group in July of 2003, a group that has now expanded to over 600 members. She has always homeschooled her two teens and has been an unschooler from the start.

Jean Byrd, Alexandria

Stephanie Elms, Annandale In addition to her role on the Board of Directors, Stephanie manages the organization’s website. She has served on the Board of Directors since 2006 and is a past conference key leader and speaker. She has been homeschooling her two sons in Northern Virginia since 2002 and coordinates a number of homeschool groups, nationally, statewide and locally.

Vicki Hook, Vienna

Kathryn Ridings, Crozet


2015 Executive Director

Parrish Mort, Cartersville – Executive Director Parrish is currently serving as Executive Director, publisher of VaHomeschoolers Voice and acting Government Affairs Chair and has previously served as President of the Board of Directors. She has served in a variety of volunteer positions with the organization since 1998. She began homeschooling in 1997.

Copyright © VaHomeschoolers
created by: dot org Web Works

Return to Top